If you can’t find the answer you’re searching for here, please feel free to contact RECP or visit the IREC website.
When does my salesperson license expire?
Salesperson licenses expire every two years on June 30 of even numbered years.
When does my broker license expire?
Broker licenses expire every two years on June 30 of odd numbered years.
What are the CE requirements?
You must complete 16 hours of continuing education for each two-year renewal cycle. Six of these hours must be in the three mandatory subjects.
What are the mandatory subjects for my CE hours?
License and Escrow Law, Agency Law, Civil Rights Law, Listing Contracts and Purchase Agreements, Settlement Procedures and Antitrust, Environmental Issues, and Ethics and Standards.
Can I get my CE waived?
Continuing education requirements can be waived under two conditions: 1) If you have served in the United States Armed Forces for one year or more of the two-year license period, or 2) If you have suffered an incapacitating illness which prevented either part-time or full-time employment for at least 12 months of the two-year license period.
Is there a fee to renew my license?
Yes, there is a license renewal fee. Current fee schedule available at the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency.
What requirements do I need to meet for renewal?
You must have completed 16 hours of qualifying continuing education.
If my license is “active,” how many hours of CE are required? Do I have to be assigned to a broker?
If you have an active real estate license, you must complete 16 hours of continuing education per license period. Yes, active licensees must have a license assigned to a broker or company.
If my license is “unassigned,” how many hours of continuing education are required?
If your license is unassigned, meaning you aren’t assigned to a broker or company, you are still required to complete 16 hours of continuing education per license period.
If my license is a “referral,” how many hours of continuing education are required? Do I have to be assigned to a broker?
If your license is a referral, meaning you’re engaged in referral of business to an active company or broker, you do not need to complete continuing education hours. Yes, referral licensees must have a license assigned to a broker or company.
If my license is “inactive,” how many hours of continuing education are required?
If your license is “inactive,” meaning you are not engaged in the real estate business, you are not required to complete continuing education credits. Inactive licensees are not required to have a license assigned to a broker or company.
Do I have to be a salesperson prior to being a broker?
Yes. In addition, you must have been actively practicing as a salesperson in Indiana for one year prior to applying for a broker license.
Can I take the broker course before I have been licensed as a salesperson for one year?
Yes, however you must have actively practiced as a salesperson in Indiana for one year before your broker license can be issued.
Which states reciprocate Indiana real estate licenses?
Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin.